top of page

Students Projects

Music composed with 6 notes

20190901 Gathering Shannon.jpg

Have you ever played a piece composed entirely of 6 notes? Sound strange isn't it?

Written by Dennis Alexander, The Rings of Saturn, is composed entirely of 6 notes beginning on C: C, D, E, F#, G# and A#. These notes are all whole tone in distance (a whole tone scale). This gives it a very distant feeling.

In a group discussion Sophie, one of the youngest students, shared what she had learned in lesson and played a whole tone scale without hesitation. Good job!

Thank you Shannon for bringing us to Saturn with a whole tone scale!

bottom of page